The Governing Body

Fressingfield Church of England Primary School is now an academy and a founding member of the All Saints Schools Trust. You can see information about how the Trust is governed on the Trust Website

Our school governing body’s role changes slightly in consequence.  Nevertheless, we retain a central role in ensuring that the school delivers the high standard of education our children deserve.

The Local School Governing Body works with and is accountable to the Board of Trustees and together we exercise the core functions of governance:

  • establishing the strategic vision and direction of the school
  • ensuring high standards of educational performance with accountability to parents and the community
  • ensuring financial probity and effective use of school resources

Here at Fressingfield School, we also aim for a happy, safe and supportive environment for both children and staff.

Our governing body includes two Foundation Governors, appointed by the Diocese of St Edmundsbury & Ipswich: they have the additional role of promoting the school’s distinctiveness as a Church of England School.

The full governing body meets twice a term and committees as required. Governors also visit to get to know the school in order to understand its strengths and weaknesses.

Governors are expected to uphold the seven principles of public service, and have a code of conduct which all governors sign; governing body responsibilities are corporate and so all governors stand by decisions once agreed.   As governors, our role is strategic with the operational running of the school the responsibility of the Headteacher and senior staff.

Fressingfield governing body is a member of the National Governors’ Association and governors have  the benefit of its weekly updates and regular magazine to help them in their work of contributing to high quality provision for a child’s important formative years.

Governors Introduce Themselves


Chair (Trust)



Mrs Clare Foster-Clarke, Chair (Parent)

As a parent of two boys at the school, I am looking to bring parents’ perspective to the governing body.

Susan Loxton

Revd Canon Susan Loxton (Ex-Officio appt)

As the parish priest here in Fressingfield, I have the privilege of being a Foundation governor and I also take assemblies on a regular basis.  My passion is for children to grow up knowing that they are loved not for what they can do but for who they are, and to encourage them to have the ambition to reach their potential.


Lavinia Haddingham

My son attended the school for 4 years and loved his time here so I felt that serving as a governor was a small way to say thank you. As my role is that of a Foundation Governor, I’m glad to be able to support Rev. Susan to ensure that the school stays close to its Christian principles.

Prue Rush

Mrs Prue Rush (Co-opted)

I have lived in Fressingfield for over 40 years.  I’m married to David who has lived and farmed here all his life and we have two children.  I retired as senior practice nurse at Fressingfield Medical Centre several years ago. I served on Fressingfield Parish Council for 28 years.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Julie-Hare-160x160.jpg

Julie Hare

I am a mum of two with my eldest currently attending in Reception. I have worked in education throughout my career but this is my first opportunity to take a position as a parent governor. I hope to effectively represent the views of parents in our community and make a positive impact to the school experiences of our children.


Mr Jeremy Leicester (Staff)

Elected by Staff

 Mark Taylor

Mr Mark Taylor (Ex-officio)


Fressingfield Church of England Primary School

Constitution April 2018

 Term StartTerm End
Foundation governors  
Susan Loxton (Vice Chair)19 May 202219 May 2026
Lavinia Haddingham3 December 20182 December 2022
Staff governors  
Jeremy Leicester10 June 202210 June 2026
Mark Taylor  
Parent governors  
Clare Foster-Clarke (Chair)10 June 202210 June 2026
Ananthi Puntis (Parent – Associate)30 Oct 202129 Oct 2025
Julie Hare30 Oct 202129 Oct 2025
Co-opted governors  
Prunella Rush01 Apr 201817 Nov 2025
Trust Governors  
Judith Mobbs30 Oct 202129 Oct 2025

* Also a Trustee of All Saints Schools Trust

Terms of Reference